

Contact: Hillary Theriault

Director of Communications communications@cmswr.org

202-832-2575 x103 202-657-1010

Council of Major Superiors of Women Religious Announces Election of Mother Mary McGreevy, RSM as Chairperson

Also Announces New Board of Directors and Advisors to the Board

November 2, 2017 (Washington, D.C.) – The Council of Major Superiors of Women Religious recently announced its new Chairperson, Board of Directors, and Advisors to the Board following the National Assembly on October 14, 2017.

Mother Mary McGreevy, RSM, Superior General for the Religious Sisters of Mercy of Alma has been elected the new Chairperson of the Council. She succeeds Mother Agnes Mary Donovan, SV, Superior General for the Sisters of Life. Mother Mary previously served on the Board as the Assistant Chairperson.

"We are delighted to welcome Mother Mary McGreevy as our new Chairperson," said Sister Marie Bernadette Thompson, OP, Council Coordinator. "Mother Mary's leadership will be a tremendous asset as we look to the future and implement our five-year strategic plan."

In addition to Mother Mary's election, the Board also welcomed a new Assistant Chairperson, Sister Mary Elizabeth Wusinich, SV, Vicar General for the Sisters of Life and a new Secretary, Sister Marie Bernadette Mertens, IHM, Vicar General for the Sisters of the Immaculate Heart of Mary of Wichita.

The 2017-2018 Board members are

Mother Mary McGreevy, RSM ~ Chairperson Superior General, Religious Sisters of Mercy

Sister Mary Elizabeth Wusinich, SV ~ Assistant Chairperson

Vicar General, Sisters of Life

Sr. Mary Angela Highfield, OP ~ Treasurer Vicaress General, Dominican Sisters of Saint Cecilia

Sr. Marie Bernadette Mertens, IHM Vicar General, Sisters of the Immaculate Heart of Mary of Wichita

Mother Mary of the Immaculate Conception Ambrogio, SSVM Provincial Superior, Servants of the Lard and the Virgin of Matara Sr. Judith Ann Duval, OSF
Major Superior, Sisters of the Third Order of St.

Mother Mary Francis Lepore, OP Superior General, Dominican Sisters, Congregation of St. Rose of Lima

Sr. Margaret Mary Mitchel, OSF Provincial Vicar, Sisters of St. Francis of Perpetual Adoration

Sr. Cecilia Ann Rezac, MS Superior General, Marian Sisters of the Diocese of Lincoln

Mother Miriam Seiferman, FSE Superior General, Franciscan Sisters of the Eucharist Sr. Robert Francis Tait, lsp

Provincial Vicar, Baltimore Province, Little Sisters of

the Poor

Sr. Megan Mary Thibodeau, SOLT

General Sister Servant, Society of Our Lady of the

Most Holy Trinity

The Advisors to the Board, from among the associate members, are

Mother Mary Ann Kessler, TOR

Reverend Mother, Franciscan Sisters Third Order Regular of Penance of the Sorrowful Mother Sr. Clare Matthiass, CFR

Community Vicar, Community of the Franciscan

Sisters of the Renewal

Mother Mary Clare Roufs, ACJ

Mother General, Handmaids of the Heart of Jesus

Located in Washington, D.C., the Council of Major Superiors of Women Religious was founded in 1992 with the canonical approval of St. John Paul II. The CMSWR members represent over 100 communities nationwide with approximately 6,000 sisters. For more information, please visit www.cmswr.org.