

Contact: Sr. Mary Christine Cremin, RSM Executive Director executivedirector@cmswr.org 202-832-2575

## Council of Major Superiors of Women Religious Announces Election of Mother Anna Grace Neenan, O.P. as Chairperson

Also Announces New Board of Directors and Advisors to the Board

**October 26, 2020** (Washington, D.C.) – The Council of Major Superiors of Women Religious recently announced its new Chairperson, Board of Directors, and Advisors to the Board following their recent Board meetings.

Mother Anna Grace Neenan, OP, Prioress General of the Dominican Sisters of St. Cecilia has been elected the new Chairperson of the Council. She succeeds Mother Mary McGreevy, RSM, Superior General of the Religious Sisters of Mercy of Alma.

In addition to Mother Anna Grace's election, the Board also welcomed a new Assistant Chairperson, Sister Megan Mary Thibodeau, SOLT, General Sister Servant of the Society of Our Lady for the Most Holy Trinity and a new Secretary, Mother Margaret Mary Waldron, CK, Mother General of the School Sisters of Christ the King. Sister Judith Ann Duvall, OSF continues in her role as Treasurer.

The 2020-2021 Board members are:

**Chairperson** ~ Mother Anna Grace Neenan, OP Prioress General, Dominican Sisters of St. Cecilia

Assistant Chairperson ~ Sister Megan Mary Thibodeau, SOLT General Sister Servant, Society of Our Lady of the Most Holy Trinity

**Secretary** ~ Mother Margaret Mary Waldron, CK Mother General, School Sisters of Christ the King

**Treasurer** ~ Sister Judith Ann Duvall, OSF Major Superior, Sisters of the Third Order of St. Francis

Sister Anne Catherine Burleigh, OP Vicaress General, Dominican Sisters of St. Cecilia

Mother Revelación Castaneda, SSVM Provincial Vicar, Servants of the Lord and the Virgin of Matará Sister John Mary DeSouza, SV Vicar General, Sisters of Life

Mother Maria Catherine Iannotti, PVMI General Superior, Parish Visitors of Mary Immaculate

Sister Margaret Mary Mitchel, OSF Provincial Vicar, Sisters of St. Francis of Perpetual Adoration

Mother Miriam Seiferman, FSE Superior General, Francis Sisters of the Eucharist

Sister Robert Francis Tait, lsp Provincial Vicar, Little Sisters of the Poor

Mother Ann Marie Zierke, MS Superior General, Marian Sisters of the Diocese of Lincoln The Advisors to the Board, from among the Associate members, are:

Mother Louise Marie Flanigan, SsEW Mother Superior, Sister Servants of the Eternal Word

Mother Teresa Christe Johnson, MSSR Superior General, Marian Sisters of Santa Rosa Mother Clare Matthiass, CFR Community Servant, Community of the Franciscan Sisters of the Renewal

Located in Washington, D.C., the Council of Major Superiors of Women Religious was founded in 1992 with the canonical approval of St. John Paul II. The CMSWR members represent over 100 communities nationwide with approximately 6,000 sisters. For more information, please visit www.cmswr.org.

###