Board of Directors (2018-2019)

Chairperson- Mother Mary McGreevy, RSM
Superior General, Religious Sisters of Mercy

Assistant Chairperson – Currently vacant

Secretary- Sister Marie Bernadette Mertens, IHM
Vicar General, Sisters of the Immaculate Heart of Mary of Wichita

Treasurer- Sister Judith Ann Duvall, OSF
Major Superior, School Sisters of the Third Order of St. Francis

Mother Mary of the Immaculate Conception Ambrogio, SSVM
Provincial Superior, Servants of the Lord and the Virgin of Matara

Sister Anne Catherine Burleigh, OP
Vicaress General, Dominican Sisters of St. Cecilia

Sister Joanne Holloman, FMA
Provincial Superior, Daughters of Mary Help of Christians, Eastern Province

Mother Maria Catherine Iannotti, PVMI
Parish Visitors of Mary Immaculate

Sister Margaret Mary Mitchel, OSF
Provincial Vicar, Sisters of St. Francis of Perpetual Adoration

Mother Miriam Seiferman, FSE
Vicar General, Franciscan Sisters of the Eucharist

Sister Robert Francis Marie Tait, lsp
Provincial Vicar, Baltimore Province, Little Sisters of the Poor

Sister Megan Mary Thibodeau, SOLT
General Sister Servant, Society of Our Lady of the Most Holy Trinity

Sister Margaret Mary Waldron, CK
Vicar General, School Sisters of Christ the King

Advisors to the Board

Mother Teresa Christe Johnson, MSSR
Superior General, Marian Sisters of Santa Rosa

Mother Mary Ann Kessler, TOR
Reverend Mother, Franciscan Sisters Third Order Regular of Penance of the Sorrowful Mother

Mother Mary Clare Roufs, ACJ
Mother General, Handmaids of the Heart of Jesus


Founding Board Members

Sister Christine Born, OP
Dominican Sisters of St. Cecilia

Sister Vincent Marie Finnegan, OCD
Carmelite Sisters of the Most Sacred Heart of Los Angeles

Sister Mary Bernard Nettle, lsp
Little Sisters of the Poor – Baltimore Province

Mother Mary Quentin Sheridan, RSM
Religious Sisters of Mercy of Alma, Michigan


Episcopal Liaison

His Eminence Justin Cardinal Rigali
Cardinal Archbishop Emeritus of Philadelphia
Episcopal Liaison for CMSWR

Advisory Council - being updated

The CMSWR Advisory Council is assembled to advise the Board of Directors of the Council of Major Superiors of Women Religious in the advancement of its mission, bringing professional experience, ecclesial wisdom, and best practices to bear on the furthering of religious life in the Church in America.

Clark Baker
Retired Chief Executive Officer, YMCA

Most Rev. Andrew Cozzens
Auxiliary Bishop of St. Paul/ Minneapolis

Most Rev. William E. Lori
Archbishop of Baltimore

His Eminence Justin Cardinal Rigali
Cardinal Archbishop Emeritus of Philadelphia and Episcopal Liaison for CMSWR

Msgr. Peter Vaccari
Rector, St. Joseph Seminary

Honorary Advisory Council Members

Most Rev. Charles J. Chaput, OFM Cap
Archbishop of Philadelphia

His Eminence Timothy Cardinal Dolan
Cardinal Archbishop of New York


PO Box 4467
Washington, DC 20017-0467

©2019 Council of Major Superiors of Women Religious