Introduction to the Pilgrimage to Jerusalem

Many have called the Holy Land “the fifth gospel” because the good news about Jesus is revealed to us not only by the writings of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John, but also by the places that mark the events of the life of Christ.  The four sacred texts will open up to us by exploring “the fifth gospel”. Here we will begin in the city of Jerusalem and its surrounding areas.

Our Pilgrimage is divided into two parts. In Part I, we will explore the history and topography of Jerusalem in the time of Christ and visit the Mount of Olives which lies outside the walls of Jerusalem, but is the site of key events in the life of Christ as related in the Gospels. In Part II, we will become familiar with the places associated with the Last Supper, Passion, Death and Resurrection, and finally Pentecost.

I pray that this virtual pilgrimage to Jerusalem will be an encounter with God “where He has revealed Himself, where His grace has shone with particular splendor and has produced rich fruits of conversion and holiness among those who believe” (Pope Benedict XVI).

Sister M. Regina Pacis, FSGM


415 Michigan Avenue NE, Suite 420
Washington, DC 20017
(202) 832-2575

©2024 Council of Major Superiors of Women Religious